A Day in the Life

Ever wondered what the day in the life of a grad student is?  You haven’t?  Well, I’m going to tell you anyway!

5:30am: alarm goes off and I’m up and out of bed.  I’m a big morning person, so waking up early isn’t hard for me

Grab a banana, my gym bag and out the door

6:00am: In the pool for a great workout (see below)

Shower, eat breakfast, get dressed

8:00am: Arrive at the lab, don my stylish work goggles and get to work.  Today was mostly making starting material for a few things I have going.  There is an undergraduate student who works with me, so today I was able to help him with his first real difficult air-sensative reaction.  Worked great and I could tell he was happy about it

6:00pm Heading home to make dinner.  On the menu tonight: my No-Pasta, Pasta dinner.  Yes, that sounds crazy, but its actually crazy good!  I’m not a huge pasta person, but I love everything that goes on it- cheese, sauce, veggies- so I thought…why do I need the pasta?  The rest of that good stuff is a complete meal!  So, here it is!

I used some lean ground turkey and browned it with some garlic and spices.  Added some sauteed zucchini, broccoli, onion and spinach and tomato and topped it off with some shredded cheddar cheese.  Yum!  May not look gourmet, but it was great after a long day of work!

7:00pm : Back to work for a bit to help out a friend.  I don’t normally return to work after dinner, but occasionally something will be going on and I’ll go back for a while.  Tonight was short and sweet

9:00pm: Finishing up my blog post, washing dishes and getting my gym bag ready for tomorrow morning.  Heading off to bed at 9:45 (yes, I am an old lady, thanks for asking!) after a full day!

Workout: Swim 2800m/ 55 minutes– this is a solid workout that I go to whenever I need a fast in and out swim.  Certainly not long on distance and the pace varies with the day, but its an oldie and its a goodie!

Warmup:

500 free, easy

200 pull

200 kick

Main Set:

800 Pyramid (50,100,150,200,150,100,50) with 10 sec between set

10 x 50 free @ 55 sec (alternate swim/pull)

Kick Set:

4 x 100 kick, hard

Cool Down:

200 free, easy

Leave a Reply

