I’m Hungry and I’m Hungry now!

So, I got home from work STARVING and didn’t think I could wait the 30 minutes I had allotted to make my dinner, so I had to improvise.  When I was little, my mom used to make what she called “green machine soup”, which was basically pea soup with spinach purred into oblivion until it was creamy and delicious.  I certainly didn’t have time tonight to make real split pea soup, but I did the best I could, and the result was warm, satisfying and yummy.  I bring you…

 

Green Machine Soup

1 cup vegetable broth

3/4 cup frozen peas

2 Tbsp onions

2 garlic cloves

1/2 cup asparagus

2 onces chicken sausage

 

Bring broth to a boil and add garlic cloves, onions, and asparagus and let simmer for about 10 minutes until asparagus is soft.  Add peas and bring back to boil.  Pour mixture into food processor or blender and blend until desired consistency.  Return to saucepan, add chicken sausage (or ham would work too) and heat through.

 I like my soup pretty chunky, but blend to whatever consistency you like!

Leave a Reply

