Moderation

It is Restaurant Week here in my lovely city, so this afternoon a friend of mine and I went down to a local cheese restaurant for lunch.  In anticipation of this afternoon of indulgence, I tried to be as sensible as possible this morning.  I had a nice bowl of oatmeal and a hard boiled egg and fruit for breakfast, went to work and class and then snacked on an apple and some cottage cheese to hold off my hunger until our 1:30 (ugh, late!) reservation.  I think eating a snack was the perfect to keep myself from overindulging in cheesy goodness.  Moderation is not something I do well.  As my mother puts it, I am a “passionate” person.  I think this is her nice way of saying opinionated, but I’ll take it!  Have strong opinions, and being “passionate” doesn’t leave a whole lot of room for moderation.  Even in my every day life, I go all out!  I work out hard, I work long hours, I talk fast, read fast, walk fast; nothing is simple with me!  When it comes to food, I’ve had my own personal demons to work through, but one thing I’m becoming very proud of is my ability to be okay with moderation.  A small taste of something sinful, maybe let some of my opinions go unsaid, all things I’m working on.

Lunch was pretty good. It wasn’t the BEST meal I’ve had during a restaurant week, but it was pretty good.  My friend and I split two entrees.  One was good old mac and cheese (made with a million fancy cheese, of course) and the other was a butternut squash and sage strata.  The mac and cheese was ok.  I’d give it 6/10, but the strata blew my socks off.  So chocked full of good bread, squash and tons of spices.  Dessert was a piece of pumpkin pie with maple whipped cream, which I honestly could have done without.  The pie was ok, but again not great.  The crust was WAY to thick for my liking and tasted more like shortbread than pie crust, but I guess to each his own.  Overall, I had a great lunch, good conversation, and a nice helping of yummy sinful foods.  To take my life back to moderation….dinner tonight is a big plate of roasted green veggies!

Today’s Workout: 55 Min Weights- focus on lower body

Squats: 4 sets of 10 (2 sets @ 95lbs, 2 sets 115lbs)

Lunges: 4 sets of 15 with 25lb weights

Pushups: 3 sets of 12

One Leg Split Squats: 3 sets of 8 each leg

One arm row: 3 sets of 12  35lbs each arm

Overhead Tricip Press: 3 sets of 12 @ 27.5lbs

Overhead Lat Row on Bench: 3 sets of 30lbs

Assorted crunches and planks

Leave a Reply

