Thankful

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays.  I actually really hate turkey, so its not so much the food, as it is the family that I look forward to.  I have a very small family.  VERY. Me, my mom, my grandparents, an aunt, a cousin and her husband and children. That is all, folks.  So, when we do Thanksgiving, its not some huge affair, but its generally fun anyway. This year things are a bit different.  My grandfather is very ill and is not expected to live much longer.  As such, we scaled way back and just had a quiet afternoon sitting around talking and eating a few things we prepared.  Sitting around made me think about all the things I’m thankful for, and here are a few, in no particular order (except for the first few)

1. My grandfather. He took me and my mother into his home when I was just 3 years old.  He raised me as his own child, taught me everything (and more) that a father should, put me through college, and watched me grow up.  He is my hero.  I’m so lucky to have had the time with him that I did.

2. My mother. Words can’t even begin to describe how wonderful a woman she is.  I get choked up just thinking about it. She is my best friend and the best mother a girl could ask for.

3. Pets. I’m so lucky to have grown up in a family that cherished animals and the true healing affect they can have on you.  Nothing better than some kitty love at the end of a bad day

4. Health and exercise. My health hasn’t always been good, but in the last few years I’ve made major life changes and faced some serious health hurdles and cleared them with room to spare.  I couldn’t be luckier to be sitting here today writing this post

5. My job. I have a job in a time when a lot of people do not. Enough said

6. Boyfriend. Couldn’t ask for a more wonderful support system,someone who always makes me laugh, picks me up when I’m down and brings me back down to earth when I let things get me a little worked up.  I’m incredibly lucky

7.A full belly, a warm bed, and knowing that I have breakfast in the morning.  We take the simple things for granted, but in a country where far too many children still wake up to no breakfast and a hungry belly, this one should never be overlooked.

 

I am incredibly lucky and need to be reminded of that today.  Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Thankful

    • Haha ya I realized I didn’t include that. My closest friends (ie: you, Mer) are pretty much my family, so I tend not to differentiate between family and friends because you all fall together in my mind! Regardless, VERY thankful!

Leave a Reply

