Jumping on the bandwagon

Well, I did it.  I bought a Garmin.  Its crazy to think that not more than 6 months ago, I was that swimmer who thought runners were insane.  My best friend is a runner, but I just never understood how she could go run for hours and hours…until now.  I still love my swimming and lifting (hell, I’m not giving up my first loves) but I’m getting really into this whole running thing.  As such, I am now the proud owner of Garmin 405c which I bought at a WAY reduced price from someone who does refurbishing.  I didn’t want to spend the market price for a watch that I wasn’t sure I was going to fall in love with, be able to use, etc etc so I went the cheap route to start.  Yesterday I took it out for its inaugural run and I definitely liked it.  I did an short 4 mile loop around my end of the city and ended with a short walk up the MASSIVE hill outside my apartment.  I was super tired from my night out before where my friends and I spent hours downtown dancing and standing on hard floors.  Not the best pre-run activity, but it was so much I didn’t want to stop.  O well, dancing burns as many calories as running right?…right?…

Anywho, the results of my first GPS equipped run.  Yes, its slow…but I’m not embarrassed to be slow.  At least I’m consistent!

Mile 1: 10:29

Mile 2: 10:34

Mile 3: 10:20

Mile 4: 10:50

Then I walked up a huge hill

Total: 4.1 mile, 44:44 min

Unfortunately for my new fancy pants watch, its back down in the 30s today, so outdoor running with have to wait for a while longer.  Leave it to me to buy a Garmin in the middle of the winter in New England.  Super smart.

2 thoughts on “Jumping on the bandwagon

  1. Well, look at you! You gotta end up getting one with a heart rate monitor. It let’s you know if you are working too hard or not hard enough – definitely took my running to a new level.

Leave a Reply

