Powerbars

I am not a fan of pre-packaged food, and the fitness world appears to be overrun with packaged, processed “fuel”.  After my first 6 mile run I realized I was feeling very shaky and would have benefited from some extra calories during the run.  Unfortunately, all of those calories would have come from sugar and chemicals in the form of gatorade or the like.  As such, I set out to make my own running fuel this afternoon.  I haven’t tackled liquid fuel yet, because I want to do the math correctly (calories burned vs calories taken in and the like), but I whipped up these energy balls this afternoon:

Almond-Date Apple Energy Balls

1/2 cup dry rolled oats

1/2 cup raw almonds

1 tbsp raw almond butter

lots of cinnamon

1 small apple, chopped into small pieces

Medjool dates- I used about 9, but depending on your mix you may need fewer or more

 

Pulse oats in a food processor until they have the consistency of rough flour.  Add the cinnamon and almonds and almond butter and pulse to desired consistency.  I like to have some texture in my food, so I left it a bit chunky.  Turn the processor on and slowly add dates, on at a time until the dough comes together.  It should stick with pressed between your fingers but not hold together otherwise.  Once you reach this consistency, add 1/2 the chopped apple and pulse until the dough comes together into a sticky ball.  Mix in the rest of the apple by hand.  Here you could add other dried fruit, seeds, etc.  Roll into small balls and store in the fridge.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

