Why Blog?

I only started this blog a few months ago, and at that point I really didn’t care if I ever got viewers.  I started this as a way to document my journey into running; I thought it would be cool to have a written account of how much my body changed, how far I ran, what it felt like, etc, etc.  At this point, I still feel very much this way.  I get a very small number of views per day, and I’d actually like to keep it that way. In fact, I’ve been thinking of turning this blog private and making it an electronic journal.  After all, isn’t that the point of blogging?  We live in a technologically advanced world and the daily journal has been replaced by the daily blog.

I suppose I brought this up because I’ve been lurking on GOMI lately and I think the posters there bring up some really great points.  Most bloggers, at least in the fitness and healthy living world, are incredibly self centered.  They blog about anything and everything (from fitness to funerals-seriously) and seem to have no off switch.  Nothing is sacred anymore.  Bloggers document every step of their pregnancy, filling in readers on some pretty gruesome details of labor and delivery; they tell readers about their truly personal emotions, problems with food; they take pictures at funerals and post them online.  All of these things got me thinking- what is the point of my blog?  Am I doing this to get attention?  Well, I can answer that pretty fast: hell no.  I don’t post pictures of myself, my house, my life and everything I ever do.  I don’t have sponsors who give me money to pimp out their latest product.  Above all, I don’t want those things- now or ever.

I want to be able to look back over this blog in a year, two years, and see what my life was like.  I want to be able to read about my journey into running, I want to see how my life evolved during grad school, how my friendships and relationships changed, how my worldview evolved.  These are the important things to me- not page views.  So, with that, I suppose I may turn private soon- although I doubt anyone will notice 🙂

4 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. Hello! Discovered your blog via your WONDERFUL comment on Meals and Miles. I totally 100% agree with your comment (and “jane’s”) for that matter. I also read GOMI (I post there too). Just wanted to drop by to leave a comment that I like your blog and have it bookmarked – it’s refreshing to see a blog focused on RUNNING and not turning it into some silly lifestyle/wedding/baby blog. Also, you’re not a FT blogger, so I also like that 🙂 Keep the blog going, please 🙂

    • Missy,
      Thanks for the comment! I’m glad that you are finding things here that you like reading- I can’t say I find myself all that interesting all the time! I was a little nervous writing that comment because I felt I might be attacked the way Jane was, but in the end I’m glad I did. I know that everyone has a different goal in writing their blogs, so I try to keep that in mind. The running content may be a little sad for a few days- I pulled a muscle and I’m letting it take a much needed break, but I hope I can keep you entertained/interested in a future 🙂
      Liz

  2. I just wanted to write and say that I hope you don’t make your blog private. I only discovered your blog recently but find it beneficial because we have a lot in common. I am also a natural swimmer and the water is where I feel at home. Because I am a triathlete I have to run, but it is a struggle. Most running blogs are written by people who are very proficient runners and they aren’t that helpful to me. I can really identify with your foray into running.

    I just wanted to let you know that you do have readers that find your blog beneficial. I know you have to do what is right for you, but you may want to consider this when making your decision.

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement! I’m rethinking the privatizing (is that a word?) of my blog and I think for the moment I’ll leave it open. I’m so glad that you are enjoying reading about my struggles, because I’m NOT a natural runner. I work really hard at it and I hope people see that- I’m not going to be running those marathons any time soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

