I’m Back, Baby!

This morning, I ran for the first time in 7 long days.  I know, 7 days doesn’t sound like that long, and it truly isn’t, but when you are counting down the days until you can run again, 7 feels like forever.  My hip has been feeling really good the last few days so I decided today was the day- now or never.  I got to the gym around 9 and hopped on a treadmill for a quick warmup walk.  About .25mile in, I felt nice and warm and picked it up to a jog.  My first mile was slow, as usual, but it felt much more natural than it has in weeks.  The next two miles I really worked hard.  I did the first mile at a 10 min pace, alternating incline/no incline every .25mile.  The second mile I did the same incline patternbut ran at 9:40pace.  Then I did a mile of speedwork: 1 min @ 6.5mph, 1 min @ 5.5 mph and finally I did a 1 mile cooldown at about 10:15 pace.

Overall, I did 5 miles in 51:30.  I’m definitely tired, no lying, but I’m so proud of myself.  A few months ago I couldn’t run more than 2 miles at a time, then I got hurt, took some time off and I STILL managed to run 5 miles faster than ever before.  There really is no better feeling than pushing yourself to accomplish a goal.  I really don’t like to compare myself to other running bloggers online because I know my times look outrageously slow compared to what they do, so for how I’m really going to focus on how I feel about my accomplishments.  I’m proud of myself, I feel healthy, and if someone wants to tell me I’m slow- bring it on! Slow and steady wins the race, but only if no one else is racing 🙂

My best friend from high school is in town this weekend for a Law School thing.  I’m not even going to try to understand what they are talking about, but I do get to join her for a cocktail party after the seminar is over.  On that note, I’m off to find something appropriate to wear to a party full of lawyers; perhaps a long black robe!

Leave a Reply

