Heavy Lifting

Back in the gym for a good heavy lift today.  Running the last two days hurts, so I’m taking it slow.  I’ve read, many time, that its easier to prevent injury than come back from one, so I’m taking that advice.  I really want to be healthy and strong in time for my 10K in May, so no getting hurt!

I started today off with a 10 min warm up on the rowing machine, which turned out to be about 2000m.  Then, I started right in on the hard stuff.  I decided today to large muscle groups moves to try to target as much as possible with as few moves as possible.  Workout looked something like this:

Bench Press: 3 sets of 12 @ 85lbs

Goblet Squats: 3 sets of 20 with 25lb dumbell

Straight leg Deadlifts: 3 sets of 12 with 65lb barbell

Pushups on Bosu Ball: 3 sets of 12

Walking Lunges with 25lb plate above head: 3 sets of 15

Biceps Curls: 3 sets 12 with 15lb dumbells

Abs- 5 min

Finished off with another 10 min/2000m on the rowing machine.  That was one heck of a workout- I’m going to be sore tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

