Hamstring Hell

I’m back after wonderful weekend away with my two best friends.  We spent way too much money, drank too much and flirted with way too many boys.  Basically, it was the best way to have a weekend 🙂

Anyway, that meant that my eating and exercise plans have been a little wonky since Friday so the last two days I got back to it.  Monday I hit up the stairmaster and bike for a good solid hour of sweating.  This morning I did 40 minutes of full body weights and then jumped on the treadmill for a 2 mile run.  The weights consisted of bench presses (4 sets increasing in weight from 70-85lbs), squats (4 sets @ 115lbs), step ups (3 sets with 12.5 lbs in each hand), deadlifts (3 sets with 65lb bar) and some various arm and ab work. Then, as if my legs weren’t burning enough, I jumped on the treadmill.  I did a 1 mile temp @ 6.0mph and then turned it up the second mile.  I alternated between 1 minute at 5.3mph and 2 minutes @ 6.5mph.  By the time that mile was over, my hamstrings were burning and screaming.  It felt awesome!  I can tell that my strength is really increasing and I think running a few short miles like this after a hard leg strength workout is really going to help my overall fitness.

I also signed up for a triathlon!  Yikes.  It is an indoor swim- and to be honest I’m not even sure why they bother with the swim.  Its barely worth getting in the pool for a 400m swim, but at least I know I can kill that part with no training at all!  The rest is your normal 12 mile bike, 3.1 mile run. I’m really excited about this, but its is also the day before my qualifying exams and I’m wondering if I’m out of my mind to do this.  I suppose it will be great to burn off some steam the day before my worst nightmare comes true, but is this too much stress all at once?  I don’t know- guess I’ll find out!

2 thoughts on “Hamstring Hell

Leave a Reply

