Triathlon Training 1

Today is the first official day of triathlon training!  I’m not following an official training plan, but I’m kicking my workouts up a gear to make sure I’m ready by April.  The triathlon is only a month and some change away and I don’t want to be a big ball of mushy, out of shape Liz when I show up.  This morning I tackled a brick workout and discovered they don’t call them bricks for no reason!  I biked 10 miles on a decently hilly course and then ran a 5k on the treadmill.  It was the fastest 5k I’ve ever run, and actually felt the easiest!  I started off nice and slow around 5.8mph thinking that I could just hold that pace and finish in a solid 32 minutes.  After the first mile my legs felt great and I decided to push the pace.  I ran the second mile at 6.1mph and the third alternating between 6.2 and 6.6! I have NEVER seen that number appear on the treadmill for more than 30 second sprints and this morning I held that pace for 8 minutes!  Holy cow.  My legs are aching right now, but luckily today is the start of my desk work.  Qualifying exams are looming and I’m no longer doing active lab work.  Instead I get (read: have to) sit around and write my thesis, make 2 1-hour long powerpoint presentations and pretty much get my life in order.  I guess its a good time to start serious training.  I have a feeling ice packs will be making an appearance in my near future.

Leave a Reply

