Ego Killer

Let’s start out with this morning’s workout: 5.75 miles/1 hr on the treadmill.  I started with a very slow warmup mile and then did 3 tempo miles (10min/mile, 9:50 min/mile, 9:35min/mile) and then a mile and half of 400 meter sprints with 400 meter jogs.  Super sweaty and I felt awesome.  It was also my first run in several weeks with NO HIP PAIN!  YAY!!!!

After my awesome workout, I was feeling pretty hot and definitely needed someone to bring my ego down. Nothing like chemistry to give you a major reality check.  Yes, I can run for an hour, but damn it, that doesn’t mean work is going to bow down to me.  In fact, work spat in my face this morning.  I’m on the verge of writing my master’s thesis and getting my presentations ready for qualifying exams (one month away, holy crap) and things have not exactly been working.  My project has been stalled for a few months now and neither I nor my boss can seem to figure out why its not working.  The theory is there- the chemistry just isn’t cooperating.  Well, this morning I was reading the literature (something I need to do more of, clearly) and came across a paper from 1990 in some tiny little obscure journal.  Anyway, the group had synthesized the same compounds that I’m working with and managed to shed a lot of light on why I can’t get them to do anything worth a damn.  Basically, had I found this paper 2 months ago I could have saved myself a lot of time and frustration.  I guess that is the world of science, though.  There are so many publications out there, of varying caliber and prominence, that it is nearly impossible to know what is written in all of them.  I’m glad this happened to me at the beginning of my science career and not say, three years down the road when I need to write a PhD dissertation, but its still frustrating.

Thank god for Fridays and my awesome friends who are meeting me for drinks after work.  On days like this, I’m not sure what I would do without them 🙂

Leave a Reply

