Too Much?

Welcome to day 2 of thesis writing.  It has been boring, to say the least.  I’m very proud of myself for banging out nearly 7 pages of well written content today, but I’m not sure how many more days like today I can handle.  I’m a very energetic person, and sitting at a desk all day long staring a computer screen makes me want to rip my hair out.  I got to work at my usual 8 this morning, and by 10:30 I had already taken two “coffee” breaks (I don’t drink coffee, so really I just walked to the kitchen and back) and walked around the department twice.  My legs were getting stiff, my back hurts from my horribly uncomfortable chair, and I swear my shoulders are uneven from leaning on my desk to read papers.

I started out this morning with a speed workout on the treadmill.  I did 4 miles in about 45 minutes.  It consisted of a slow 1 mile warmup followed by 4 X 800 @ 6.1 with sloooow 400 jogs between.  After that I hopped on the bike and road for 20 minutes to total another 5 miles.  So, just a quick addition lesson: before 8 am I had run/biked 9 miles.  Doesn’t seem outrageous until I tell you that at 3pm I went back to the gym and biked another 9 miles/40 minutes.  I simply couldn’t sit at my desk anymore and I really think I started to feel my legs fuse with the chair.  I took my papers and read while on the bike, so it wasn’t a particularly difficult bike, but at least I got myself moving again.  That brings me to a total of 18 miles for the day.  Yikes.

At the moment I’m not feeling sore or overly tired which I think its just a consequence of having sat for 9 hours today.  I don’t think twice a day workouts are something I can sustain for very long both for purposes of the time it requires and the recovery time my body likes to have.  Either way, it was a nice way to break up a very very boring day.

2 thoughts on “Too Much?

Leave a Reply

