Its my project, and I’ll cry if I want to

Yesterday I got scooped.  If you aren’t a scientist or a journalist, you may not be familiar with that term, but in short it means someone did the same work as you but got there faster.  I was at a conference yesterday afternoon where a grad student from a German group who shall not be named (GGWSNBN) gave a presentation on their current work.  In the last few slides he gave a short prospectus on their future work, which included a soon to be published paper on…drumroll please…..the exact work I’ve been doing for the last year.  

Once I removed my heart from my shoes and kept myself from throwing up, I went into damage control.  My advisor and I have a meeting this morning to see if we can throw something together to publish really quickly or if we just want to wait and see what GGWSNBN ends up publishing.  If they really did scoop us entirely, I’ve just lost a year of work and almost 3 chapters of my thesis.  I may get really lucky and find out they are only publishing a small amount of the work, in which case I scramble together a paper and get it out as soon as they publish to establish myself in the field.  That is the best case scenario.  Like, waking up in the morning to find you’ve suddenly turned into Giselle Bundchen kind of best case scenario.

Until then, I’m tying to go easy on myself.  I was exhausted when I woke up this morning so I moved my off day from tomorrow to today so I could get to work early and get some stuff done.  Sometimes when I’m really stressed, working out helps immensely and other times it just makes my stress higher.  I know my body and this is a situation where exercise wouldn’t energize me; it would deplete any leftover store of energy I have and totally kill me. My goals for today are the following: get as much work done as possible, only drink 1 pot of coffee (this goal may be futile), eat healthy and don’t let stress send me into emotional eating patterns.  So far I’m doing ok on the healthy eating and working; the coffee part may be a pipe dream- I’m 30% caffeine, 70% water as it is.

To keep things healthy, I had savory oats for breakfast this morning. Its a great way to get some veggies into your breakfast and it keeps oatmeal from being boring.  Give it a shot….totally yummy and great on a cold morning.

Savory Oats (for one)

1/2 cup dry rolled oats

1 cup water

1/2 cup sliced zucchini

2 cups raw spinach

1 oz cheddar cheese

salt, pepper, olive oil

Saute zucchini in oil, salt and pepper until tender.  Add oats and mix to coat in remaining oil.  Toast for 1 minute over low heat.  Add water and bring to boil, lower heat and cook until oats are to your liking.  Turn off heat, add spinach and cheese and mix until spinach is wilted and everything is cheesy.  Sprinkle with more black pepper if you like and serve piping hot.

Leave a Reply

